Monday Musings From The Writer’s Desk

lestweforget

 

One hundred years have now passed since the end of the First World War.  With few eye witnesses left in the world, if any, it is important that we continue to remember the huge sacrifices that my Great Grandfather and his comrades made.

Great Grandfather’s story has come to light, ever so slowly.  In his lifetime he, like many others, was not forthcoming with the details of the war. Each time I browse through his boxes of belongings, more details come to light.  I’m sure there are thousands of similar stories waiting to be discovered by families around the country.  Old cupboards, sheds and trunks, are often the keepers of our ancestors’ secrets.  Today I would like to share the following video that was posted on facebook for Remembrance Day.  I suggest you go and get a box of tissues as it might bring a tear to your eyes.

LEST WE FORGET

Leave a comment